“Ambient Location” Didn’t Work, So Business Networking App Intro Pivots To Mobile Group Management

Posted: May 7, 2013 in Apps, Mobile, Social, Startup, Technology
Tags: , , , , , ,

20130507-211308.jpg. It’s fair to say that the “ambient location” craze has
passed. Several of the mobile apps intent on
connecting people with friends and other
recommended users nearby are still struggling to find
mainstream adoption. Some, like Glancee and
Glassmap have sold. Others, like Kismet, have moved into new product categories. And today, the
business-focused networking app Intro, is pivoting. Gone are the “ambient location” features which once
alerted you to nearby users based on things like
geotagged tweets or check-ins. With the new version,
the company has shifted the focus solely to making
one-to-one introductions between members of
LinkedIn or Meetup groups. Explains co-founder Anthony Erwin, the decision to
make this switch came from observations of user
behavior. The best and most powerful introductions
the app enabled were those where the members were
each in the same group already. 90 percent of the
time when an intro was created and members would connect, they cited being in the same group as the
reason, he says. “I think what’s happened in this space, is because it’s
dealing with connecting strangers – people are kind of
wary of that,” says Erwin. “If you’re going to create
connections that work, they’re going to have to be
very familiar; almost not like strangers, in a way.” Users told him that when they were shown other
group members, those people didn’t feel like random
strangers. Intro has always been more sensitive to the
potentially creepy nature of ambient location apps,
having previously introduced features that would allow
users to switch of networking with those not outside
of a set of preferred groups, for instance. The
revamped version of the app is something of an extension of that earlier concept more than it is a hard
pivot to an entirely new vertical. In the updated application, available now on iOS and
for Android in a few weeks time (currently the Android
app is the older version of Intro), you’ll still be shown
other group members who are nearby, but now the
app take a wider view of your location. It begins by
offering you connections across your city, as opposed to at your exact location. You can then
quickly swipe through the suggestions to connect or
reject the proposed connections. However, when there is an event or other
congregation of members in the same location, the
app’s algorithm will immediately adjust to sort its
recommendations by degrees of separation and other
signals which would indicate closer ties with that
user. These same signals come into play any time you’re sorting through connections, but they’re even
more critical when there’s a crowd. In addition to finding users who are in your same
LinkedIn and Meetup groups, the updated service
also now lets group administrators import their
member list to Intro, then use an online web
dashboard to view demographic data or to create and
send out messages and alerts to users, such as meeting details. Recipients can then add these event
reminders to their iOS calendar. During testing and in the past few days when the app
quietly relaunched, hundreds of group admins have
claimed their groups on the app, and thousands of
their members have begun networking. Groups where
the admin has taken control include the NY Tech
Meetup group, Founders Network, the Lean Six Sigma group, Soho House, the Silicon Roundabout
group, the U.S. Realtors Association, the
Pharmaceutical Association of America, a Red Cross
group for frontline aid workers, and others. Groups are free for members and admins of those
with up to 100 members. Afterwards, pricing ranges
from $10/month to $100/month, depending on the
number of members. Around 30 percent of the group
admins are now paying users, and the average price
falls around $49/month. The updated Intro app is available here in the iTunes
App Store. The Android version will be updated soon.

Comments
  1. Homepage says:

    … [Trackback]

    […] Find More Informations here: gadtechno.com/2013/05/07/ambient-location-didnt-work-so-business-networking-app-intro-pivots-to-mobile-group-management/trackback/ […]

  2. Cp4c2X7CZb says:

    694055 933392This is a great site, would you be interested in doing an interview about how you developed it? If so e-mail me! 473379

  3. What’s up to every , since I am really eager of reading this website’s post to
    be updated daily. It carries pleasant stuff.

  4. Excellent way of describing, and nice post to take facts concerning my presentation focus, which i am going to present in academy.

  5. It’s wonderful that you are getting ideas from this post as well as from our dialogue made here.

  6. Hi colleagues, fastidious piece of writing and good arguments commented here, I
    am in fact enjoying by these.

  7. Hey! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog.
    Is it hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about
    setting up my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Thank you

  8. For Daenerys, her character continues to grow in inner strength and resolve.

    Conflicts of attitudes: People have different values, goals and lifestyles, which may offend or annoy others.
    This manner of doing business stems from the landmark Supreme Court construction law case United States vs.

  9. The Wizard Mutual Funds are going to keep you in the fund when it
    is going up and out of the fund and into a money market equivalent or fund.
    Beyond a small size, this is inconvenient, time consuming and generates a lot of network traffic that could bog down others.
    Can you imagine becoming so gripped by fear that you were afraid
    to leave the house, walk down the street, or trust a new group of
    people.

  10. Can you tell us more about this? I’d love to find out more details.

  11. Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all people you really
    realize what you are speaking approximately! Bookmarked.
    Please additionally seek advice from my website =). We may
    have a hyperlink alternate arrangement among us

  12. reference says:

    385296 728806Wow post thanks! We believe your articles are excellent and want a lot more soon. We enjoy anything to do with word games/word play. 88991

  13. Share It says:

    409323 559538The next time I just read a weblog, I genuinely hope which it doesnt disappoint me up to this 1. Get real, Yes, it was my choice to read, but I personally thought youd have something intriguing to convey. All I hear can be a handful of whining about something you can fix inside the event you werent too busy trying to uncover attention. 197736

  14. Hi there! I understand this is somewhat off-topic however
    I had to ask. Does running a well-established website like yours require a massive amount
    work? I am brand new to running a blog however I do write
    in my journal on a daily basis. I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my experience and feelings online. Please let me know if you have any ideas or tips for new aspiring blog owners. Thankyou!

  15. Your means of explaining all in this post is really nice, every one be able to simply understand it, Thanks
    a lot.

  16. 293278 91368Some times its a pain in the ass to read what people wrote but this web site is very user friendly ! . 303169

  17. 422599 974389you can have an perfect weblog appropriate here! would you prefer to make some invite posts on my weblog? 301204

  18. Greetings from Florida! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the information you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .
    . Anyhow, very good blog!

  19. I’ll immediately snatch your rss as I can not in finding your e-mail subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you’ve any?

    Please let me understand so that I may subscribe. Thanks.

  20. Excellent blog right here! Also your site a lot up fast!

    What web host are you the usage of? Can I get your associate hyperlink on your host?
    I desire my web site loaded up as quickly as yours lol

  21. The other day, while I was at work, my cousin stole my iphone and tested to see if it can survive a 30
    foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation.

    My iPad is now destroyed and she has 83 views. I
    know this is completely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

Leave a Reply

