Google Reminds iOS Developers That They Can Easily Integrate Chrome With Their Apps

Posted: May 8, 2013 in Google, Technology
Tags: , ,

20130508-210723.jpg Google just reminded developers that they can use
Chrome as the default browser for their apps and
easily switch back and forth between app and
browser. With x-callback, Google says, developers
can open links in Chrome and once the page has
loaded, Chrome will show a link back to the original app in the top left corner of the screen. This should
make it much easier for developers to allow users to
support Chrome in their apps. Currently, Google says, developers have two options
when they want to access web content from their
apps: they can create their own in-app web browser
frame – using Apple’s own WebKit browser, of course
– or by sending users away from their apps to a
browser. Once users are in the browser, though, chances are,
they won’t come back, so Google’s scheme will
surely help to ensure that users remember what app
they were coming from in the first place. To get started, developers have to download the
OpenInChromeControllerClass and add it to their
projects. The class will check if Chrome is installed
and, if that’s the case, you can start sending links to
Chrome with x-callback enabled. Given that Chrome is essentially just an app on iOS,
it can’t be set as the default on Apple’s operating
system. That’s obviously a problem for Google,
because apps will always open links in Safari by
default. Because of this, users have little incentive to
switch to Chrome because they’ll always be forced back into Safari anyway.

Comments
  1. dating sites says:

    I must say I didn’t expect to see a page like Google Reminds iOS Developers That They Can Easily Integrate Chrome With Their Apps | Gadget and Technology today. Very impressive. Reminds me of something I find out about google chrome apps the other day.

  2. hilarious might be something you want to look into.
    I know your webpage is about hilarious but
    seriously. I have seen sites like yours branch out into other areas and its been to their
    benefit.

  3. Hi outstanding website! Does running a blog such as
    this take a lot of work? I have no knowledge of coding however I was hoping to start my own blog in the near future.
    Anyhow, should you have any recommendations or techniques for new blog owners please share.

    I understand this is off topic nevertheless I simply had to ask.
    Kudos!

  4. I am not sure if you are aware of this. I read a blog just like Google Reminds iOS
    Developers That They Can Easily Integrate Chrome With Their Apps |
    Gadget and Technology the other day on … oops I can’t remember the internet site just now however it was also about r1200rt too. I will get back to you if it comes to me.

  5. Johnnie says:

    I am not sure if you are aware of this. I read a weblog just like Google Reminds iOS Developers That
    They Can Easily Integrate Chrome With Their Apps | Gadget and Technology the other day on .
    .. oops I can’t remember the resource site just now nevertheless it was also about dualism too. I will get back to you if it comes to me.

  6. Omg I delight in you actually dealing with the main topic of Google
    Reminds iOS Developers That They Can Easily Integrate Chrome With Their Apps
    | Gadget and Technology. It’s essential to read something similar to this by going online eventually. Reminds me personally of old homes for sale south carolina which i was reading about most recently for whatever reason. Anyhow, have a great day and keep on submitting posts!

  7. Amazing. That was a good read. I will facebook this internet-site for later.
    I like your style.

  8. private jets charters executive jet charter charter private jet private jet charter services charter jet charter a private flight

  9. click here says:

    Very good article.Thanks Again. Want more.

  10. What a great submit on Google Reminds iOS Developers That They Can Easily Integrate Chrome With Their Apps |
    Gadget and Technology. Most Impressive!

  11. Hollie says:

    I was surprised that you wrote this. My apologies, that appeared a tad off.

    What i’m saying is, I have been right here before and so this statement delighted myself… A Great Deal! Please write more information on Google Reminds iOS Developers That They Can Easily Integrate Chrome With Their Apps | Gadget and Technology or sometimes experiment with geohydrology preferably instead? Many thanks reading this. Take care

  12. psychic says:

    los angeles unified school district might be something you want to look
    into. I know your internet-site is about los angeles unified school district but
    seriously. I have seen sites like yours branch out into other
    areas and its been to their benefit.

  13. Sweet Google Reminds iOS Developers That They Can Easily Integrate Chrome With
    Their Apps | Gadget and Technology publish! I am genuinely captured
    because of your competencies in creating. The idea brought to mind an article with regards to vicodin dependency I just read 120 minutes earlier.
    In either case, beautiful piece… thanks for posting.

  14. Wonderful webpage. Cool blog site page concerning Google Reminds iOS
    Developers That They Can Easily Integrate Chrome
    With Their Apps | Gadget and Technology. You certainly have the approach for success
    materializing right here. Let me book mark your niche site and
    come back once again in the future.

  15. If you could do something you never did before would you?
    I mean writing about Google Reminds iOS Developers
    That They Can Easily Integrate Chrome With Their Apps
    | Gadget and Technology is good but is it a
    safe subject considering your internet site is about bosch router table?

    All things considered it is a great position however I
    bet you could try branching into other subjects like bosch router table for example.

    Just an idea… I trust you don’t mind me expressing that.

  16. I can’t believe that you wrote this. Sorry, that appeared slightly off. After all, I have already been right here just before and so this blog post delighted me and my friends… A Good Deal! Make sure you post more info on Google Reminds iOS Developers That They Can Easily Integrate Chrome With Their Apps | Gadget and Technology or maybe consider sewing patterns in its place? I appreciate reading this. Kind regards

  17. I wish I could compose like you. Your blog post Google Reminds iOS
    Developers That They Can Easily Integrate Chrome With Their Apps |
    Gadget and Technology has pushed me to get off my
    butt and get some word out to the world. You have boosted
    my confidence just by writing so well.

  18. psychics says:

    I am not sure if you are aware of this. I read a info just like Google Reminds iOS Developers That They Can Easily Integrate Chrome With
    Their Apps | Gadget and Technology the other day on .
    .. oh no I can’t remember the online site just now however it was also about malícia too. I will get back to you if it comes to me.

Leave a Reply

