OpenSignal Launches WeatherSignal, Using Its Crowdsourcing Cell Phone Coverage Tech To Tackle Meteorology

Posted: May 8, 2013 in Technology

20130508-204019.jpg OpenSignal, the UK startup that has made a name for
itself with its Android and iOS apps that crowdsource
cell phone coverage based on data picked up from
users’ devices, is branching out into another area that
consumers love to obsess about: the weather. Today,
the company is launching a new app for Android devices, WeatherSignal, which takes data gathered
from different sensors, such as light meters and
barometers, which come as part of a smartphone’s
hardware, to create real-time, crowdsourced pictures
of what the weather is like on a hyperlocal scale. Brendan Gill, the CEO and co-founder of OpenSignal,
describes WeatherSignal as a “side project” at the
moment, leveraging the platform that they have built
out for OpenSignal itself. “We got into this after seeing what you could do with
the sensors on devices using the barometer on
devices, which lets you measure humidity,” he told
TechCrunch in an interview. The idea was also helped along by an accidental
discovery that Gill and his team made: as part of their
larger look into device diagnostics and how they
might use them, OpenSignal found that they could
measure the ambient temperature around a particular
device based on the temperature of the device’s battery. “We ran an experiment and looked over a large
number of people where we saw that it correlated with
temp around the world,” he says. They have since
written an algorithm that describes how this works,
and they are collaborating with scientists based at the
Royal Meteorological Institute of the Netherlands on an academic paper around this, which is under
general submission right now. While OpenSignal itself has a clear path to a
business model right now — run as a free consumer
service, the diagnostics can potentially also get
collated, in an anonymized way, and delivered to
carriers either to improve their own cell phone
coverage, or for competitive intelligence against others (no announced customers yet) —
WeatherSignal is at a much earlier stage in its life. “We are just focused on consumer traction,” Gill says.
“To be honest the simple plan is that we don’t have a
grand monetization plan for the weather at all right
now. It’s not a market that we know that much about
but the premise is that we can make better weather
predictions.” Plus, he points out, it’s relevant to so many types of businesses. And, as I’d point out,
weather is a perennial favorite app category for
smartphone users. This also points to a wider ambition for the startup,
backed by O’Reilly AlphaTech Venture, Passion
Capital and Qualcomm Ventures, for what they plan
to do with their business longer-term. “The vision is
that we want to be a data company,” Gill says. “Lots
of companies are gathering crowdsourced data from mobile devices these days. We think our solutions
are effective because they are far more scalable and
passive. We don’t ask a lot of people in order to
source what becomes rich data.” He says they are
not currently seeking any further fundraising at this
time to further build out this strategy. As with OpenSignal, WeatherSignal will be focused
on anonymized data, and users can opt out of
contributing even that, relying instead just on using
the app based on other users’ data input. Gill and his
team are working on an iPhone version now, too.

Comments
  1. My Homepage says:

    … [Trackback]

    […] There you will find 92500 more Infos: gadtechno.com/2013/05/08/opensignal-launches-weathersignal-using-its-crowdsourcing-cell-phone-coverage-tech-to-tackle-meteorology/ […]

  2. It’s actually a cool and useful piece of information. I am glad that you simply shared this helpful information with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  3. We’re a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community. Your web site provided us with valuable information to work on. You have done a formidable job and our entire community will be thankful to you.

  4. What’s up, yes this piece of writing is really pleasant and I have learned lot of things from it concerning blogging. thanks.

  5. Hello, this weekend is fastidious for me, because this occasion i am reading this
    fantastic informative post here at my house.

  6. Heya are using WordPress for your site platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and create my own.

    Do you require any coding expertise to make your
    own blog? Any help would be really appreciated!

  7. Undeniably consider that which you said. Your favourite justification appeared to be on the
    net the simplest thing to be mindful of. I say to you, I certainly get annoyed whilst other people consider worries that they
    plainly don’t recognise about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the highest and also defined out the whole thing without having side effect , other folks could take a signal. Will probably be again to get more. Thank you

  8. lalit.com says:

    I was suggested this blog by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my problem. You’re amazing!
    Thanks!

  9. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I really appreciate your efforts and I am waiting for your
    further write ups thanks once again.

  10. Hello, this weekend is pleasant designed for me, since this moment i am reading this enormous informative
    paragraph here at my home.

  11. This design is spectacular! You certainly know how to keep a reader entertained.

    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost.
    ..HaHa!) Fantastic job. I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

  12. Informative article, just what I wanted to find.

  13. Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely magnificent.
    I actually like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you are saying and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it smart. I can not wait to read much more from you. This is really a great web site.

  14. It is appropriate time to make a few plans for the long
    run and it’s time to be happy. I have read this publish and if I may just I desire to suggest you some fascinating things or suggestions. Maybe you could write subsequent articles regarding this article. I desire to read more things approximately it!

  15. Danilo says:

    Good day very nice website!! Guy .. Excellent .
    . Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your web site and take the feeds also? I am glad to find a lot of useful information right here within the submit, we want develop more techniques in this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

  16. I savor, result in I found just what I used to be taking
    a look for. You’ve ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  17. Dick says:

    This is my first time go to see at here and i am in fact pleassant
    to read everthing at single place.

  18. I do trust all of the ideas you have presented to your post.
    They are very convincing and can certainly work. Nonetheless,
    the posts are too brief for beginners. May you please prolong them a bit from subsequent
    time? Thank you for the post.

  19. Garrett says:

    I blog often and I really appreciate your content.

    This article has truly peaked my interest. I am going to bookmark your website and keep checking for new information about once a
    week. I opted in for your Feed as well.

  20. I do trust all the ideas you have offered in your post.
    They’re really convincing and will definitely work. Still, the posts are too brief for newbies. May just you please prolong them a bit from subsequent time? Thank you for the post.

  21. Having read this I believed it was very enlightening.
    I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this article together.
    I once again find myself personally spending way too much time both reading and commenting.
    But so what, it was still worth it!

Leave a Reply

