State Department Demands 3-D Gun Blueprints Be Removed

Posted: May 10, 2013 in GT, Guns

20130510-085027.jpg
Well that was quick: The State Department has
demanded that new blueprints for a fully 3-D-printed
gun be taken offline just a week after they were
posted. The Office of Defense Trade Controls
Compliance is forcing outspoken Second Amendment
crusader Cody Wilson to remove the downloadable 3- D printer files from Defcad.org under expert laws
known as the International Traffic in Arms
Regulations (ITAR). “Until the Department provides Defense Distributed
with final [commodity jurisdiction] determinations,
Defense Distributed should treat the above technical
data as ITAR-controlled,” reads a State Department
order” (embedded at the bottom of this post). The defiant gun developer isn’t going to fight the
government in a blaze of glory, however. “We have to
comply,” he told Forbes. It’s not exactly an empty
surrender. The blueprints have already been
downloaded 100,000 times and are being held by
fellow digital renegade Kim Dotcom in his offshore New Zealand servers. For further insurance, the files
have also been uploaded to the popular file-sharing
network, the Pirate Bay (we can feel our anarchist
readers getting goosebumps right now). Just to make sure he’s an equal-opportunity offender,
Wilson argues his activities are legit, because ITAR
doesn’t apply to information sold in a library, and
conveniently has his being sold in an undisclosed
Austin, Texas, bookstore. According to Forbes’ Andy Greenberg, Wilson sees
parallels between his strife and the governments
abandoned attempts at censoring military-grade
encryption software. In the 1990s inventor Phil
Zimmermann released software, PGP, so difficult to
crack that it could have permitted malicious actors from hiding information from law enforcement. Wilson
believes public pressure ultimately convinced the
government to back off of Zimmermann. It’ll be interesting to see whether the government has
any actual power to prevent the propagation of 3-D
gun blueprints. State Dept Defense Distributed Letter (Redacted)

Comments
  1. I was suggested this blog by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my difficulty. You’re
    wonderful! Thanks!

  2. That is very attention-grabbing, You are a very professional blogger.

    I have joined your feed and look forward to in search of more
    of your excellent post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks

  3. Hello there! This is my first visit to your blog! We
    are a group of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us valuable information to work on.

    You have done a extraordinary job!

  4. You actually make it seem so easy together with your presentation however I to find this matter to be actually one thing
    that I think I would never understand. It sort of feels too complex and very vast for me.
    I am looking forward on your next put up, I will attempt to get the grasp of it!

  5. Hi there, the whole thing is going fine here and ofcourse every one is
    sharing information, that’s really excellent, keep up writing.

  6. vjkUET says:

    593199 608949Basically received my 1st cavity. Rather devastating. I would like a super smile. Seeking a good deal far more choices. A lot of thanks for the post 345371

  7. It will become unacceptable that you should go through this important.
    Tough prior to necessities and then establishing applying the Hispanic demand will give you obtains being exposed along
    with has saved me your cash daily. They can be a immense prosperity in the realm of
    coffee drinks.

  8. 781301 17767Hello! I could have sworn Ive been to this weblog before but right after browsing by means of some with the post I realized it is new to me. Anyways, Im undoubtedly pleased I located it and Ill be book-marking and checking back often! 413518

  9. 502820 349094Hi! I discovered your site accidentally today, but am actually pleased that we did! Its not only entertaining, but in addition straightforward to make use of in contrast to lots that Ive viewed! 141883

  10. Ken Berrong says:

    I simply want to say I am all new to blogging and site-building and absolutely enjoyed your web-site. Very likely I’m going to bookmark your blog . You really come with superb well written articles. With thanks for revealing your website.

Leave a Reply

