Zapier Launches API-Monitoring Service To Catch Issues And Outages

Posted: May 14, 2013 in Enterprise, GT
Tags:

20130514-223212.jpg
Zapier, a service that automates tasks between
online services, has launched a tool that monitors 200
APIs, sometimes catching an outage before the
provider does. The new tool monitors the uptime and downtime of
every API on Zapier. It is designed to monitor the
realtime status of popular web APIs and their impact
on customers that use the Zapier service or just want
a good resource to monitor how APIs are
behaving. Each API can be monitored via SMS, instant message, email or any number of methods
that are supported by Zapier’s core product. Zapier Co-Founder Wade Foster said they developed
the monitoring service, because, while vendors often
provide performance dashboards for their main
products, they don’t do so for their APIs. This is true
for such services
as Amazon, Desk.com and 37Signals. This can be a problem as APIs are now the glue for connecting
apps. The shortcoming leaves consumers in the dark
when APIs go down, Foster said in a recent email
discussion. For example, the Google APIs had an
outage, which Zapier discovered almost instantly. Here’s the Hacker News thread documenting the
outage. “My co-founder is the top commenter there,”
Foster said. “The subsequent comments were what
encouraged us to release this publicly.” He said the dashboard has been public for about a
week. Almost everything is always up which speaks
to the quality of applications that are being built these
days. This is a pretty cool service. It’s important, too,
especially for app developers who will often monitor
multiple APIs that integrate with their apps.

Comments
  1. Beyene says:

    Really nice post. I just located your site and also wanted to claim that We have genuinely treasured searching your website articles. In fact I am opt-in on your rss feed and i also we imagine you produce once more before long!

  2. Hello, Neat post. There’s an issue with your site in internet explorer, may check this? IE nonetheless is the market chief and a huge section of folks will miss your wonderful writing due to this problem.

  3. I’ll right away clutch your rss feed as I can not find your email subscription link or newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Please allow me realize so that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

  4. Hello there, I discovered your web site via Google whilst looking for a related subject, your site got here up, it seems to be good. I have bookmarked to my favourites|added to my bookmarks.

  5. Hi, i feel that i saw you visited my website so i got here to go back the choose?.I’m trying to to find things to enhance my web site!I guess its adequate to make use of some of your ideas!!

  6. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be actually something which I think I would by no means understand. It sort of feels too complex and extremely broad for me. I am having a look ahead for your subsequent publish, I will attempt to get the hang of it!

  7. Hiya very nice site!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your blog and take the feeds also?I am satisfied to search out so many helpful info here within the put up, we’d like work out extra strategies on this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

  8. I like the helpful information you supply for your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and check once more right here frequently. I am fairly certain I will learn plenty of new stuff right right here! Good luck for the following!

  9. Ek Gelir says:

    I will immediately clutch your rss feed as I can’t to find your e-mail subscription link or newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Kindly permit me recognise in order that I could subscribe. Thanks.

  10. I completely agree with your ideas on the topic above. Very nice Post, keep up the fantastic work.

  11. Excellent goods from you, man. I have consider your stuff prior to and you’re just too magnificent. I actually like what you’ve bought right here, certainly like what you’re saying and the way in which wherein you say it. You make it enjoyable and you continue to care for to stay it sensible. I can not wait to learn far more from you. This is really a wonderful web site.

  12. It’s actually a cool and helpful piece of info. I am happy that you just shared this useful information with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  13. Hi there, simply changed into aware of your weblog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful when you continue this in future. Numerous folks will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  14. I have learn several excellent stuff here. Certainly price bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how much attempt you place to make this kind of excellent informative site.

  15. You actually make it seem really easy with your presentation but I to find this topic to be really something that I think I might by no means understand. It kind of feels too complex and extremely vast for me. I am having a look forward for your subsequent put up, I’ll try to get the grasp of it!

  16. Ryan says:

    Magnificent site. Plenty of helpful info here. I’m sending it to several buddies ans also sharing in delicious. And naturally, thanks to your effort!

  17. Fantastic items from you, man. I have remember your stuff previous to and you are just too magnificent. I really like what you’ve received right here, certainly like what you are stating and the best way wherein you are saying it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to stay it wise. I cant wait to read much more from you. That is actually a wonderful website.

  18. I’ve read a few just right stuff here. Definitely value bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how so much attempt you place to make such a great informative site.

  19. naturally like your web-site but you need to test the spelling on several of your posts. Many of them are rife with spelling issues and I to find it very troublesome to tell the truth however I will surely come back again.

  20. fundraiser says:

    My brother suggested I may like this blog. He was once totally right. This put up actually made my day. You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  21. of course like your web-site however you need to test the spelling on quite a few of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling problems and I in finding it very bothersome to tell the reality on the other hand I’ll surely come again again.

  22. Gadget Blog says:

    Thank you a lot for sharing this with all people you really realize what you’re talking approximately! Bookmarked. Please additionally visit my website =). We could have a hyperlink alternate arrangement among us

  23. You actually make it appear so easy along with your presentation but I find this matter to be actually one thing which I think I would by no means understand. It kind of feels too complicated and very extensive for me. I’m having a look forward for your next submit, I will attempt to get the hang of it!

  24. You can certainly see your enthusiasm within the paintings you write. The arena hopes for more passionate writers such as you who are not afraid to say how they believe. All the time follow your heart.

  25. free says:

    You know thus significantly when it comes to this matter, made me individually consider it from a lot of various angles. Its like men and women aren’t involved except it’s something to accomplish with Woman gaga! Your personal stuffs outstanding. At all times care for it up!

  26. Wow, fantastic blog layout! How lengthy have you been blogging for? you made running a blog glance easy. The full glance of your web site is magnificent, let alone the content!

  27. Kumar mohan says:

    Hello, i think that i saw you visited my blog so i came to �return the favor�.I am attempting to find things to improve my site!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

Leave a Reply

